Accidentally deleting blogs are not rare occurrences as in the default BASIC tab for Blogger SETTINGS, the DELETE button is just below the SAVE SETTINGS button.
Previously, once you delete a blog, the blog URL become available for anyone to grab, and spammers have automated programs to quickly grab the URL of a deleted blog to use for spam blog (splog), taking advantage of any existing PageRank of a blog rather than starting from scratch. That was the reason for publishing this post - Why you should not delete a blog and what to do when you accidentally delete a blog or change the blog URL.
However, Blogger has wised up to this and now if you delete a blog, the blog URL is reserved for you to claim back later. So if you have accidentally deleted a blog, what you can do is to create a new blog using the old blog URL. Now I myself have not tried this when this was made known to me, and hope to do that one day and report the result at Testing Blogger Beta (now New Blogger). In the meantime, if you had accidentally deleted your blog, try this and please report the result by leaving a comment for everyone's benefits.
What if you change the blog URL instead of deleting it?We have been informed that when you change the blog URL, the blog URL will be released for others to register it.
How to backup and restore blog using Export/Import functions
Restore deleted Google/gmail/Blogger account
Recover deleted blog
How to Recover accidentally deleted post
How to recover deleted comments